You are here

Estella Wong

Associate Dean

The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts

Estella Wong is currently the Associate Professor and the Head of Applied Theatre in the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. Graduated from the Academy and Birmingham City University, Estella had joined two professional theatre companies, Prospects Theatre Company and Chung Ying Theatre Company, before joining the Academy as a School of Drama full-time faculty member in 2008. Over the past 25 years, Estella has been working actively as an applied theatre practitioner, theatre director and academic. She also served in the senior management roles including the Associate Dean and Acting Dean of Drama from 2017-2022. Estella’s recently created works, the digital mini-ethnotheatre See You Zoom, was awarded Featured Works of 2020 by the International Association of Theatre Critics (Hong Kong) and See You Zoom Again, was commissioned by Tai Kwun (a heritage arts centre, HK) following the enthusiastic response from See You Zoom. Being an advocate of applied theatre, Estella has established and designed both the first local MFA programme Drama and Theatre Education major in 2008; and the first local BFA programme Applied Theatre major in 2022. Her publications include Applying Theatre (2011, 2017), Chinese translation of Dramawise: An Introduction of GCSE of Drama by Haseman & O’Toole (2005), Gavin Bolton: Essential Writings by Davis (2013) and Risks and Opportunities: the Tension in Hong Kong Drama Education Development (2007). Estella was a member of the academic committee in IDEA 07 hosted in Hong Kong, and the chairperson of academic committee in the World Conference of Drama Education in Chinese Communities (DECC) in 09. Estella currently serves as the board member of Pants Production and Hong Kong Teacher’s Drama Association (HKTDA). The Estella Wong Applied Theatre and Drama Education Scholarships were founded in 2010 for drama students who have shown outstanding commitment in applied theatre works, more than 20 undergraduate and graduate students have been awarded thus far.